The presence of holding space

This morning, I logged on to the Internet and was greeted by the default home page at MSN. I generally skip past this to my e-mail, but today one of the headlines read: “Tragedy Deepens in Rural West Virginia.” Then the headline flipped to tag lines about big spending in Texas, komodo dragons, odd car names, and something about basketball.

The family and friends of those 25 people who died in the West Virginia mines aren’t thinking about Texas, dragons, cars, or basketball. And most people probably are not thinking of those 25 miners.

But I will be.

I can’t physically do anything for them or their loved ones, but my presence can hold space to acknowledge the lives and deaths of those who died and those who remain in this existence. I can’t take away anyone’s grief, but I can understand and empathize with them. I can be that one-nth degree of energy from far away sending compassion and sharing a miniscule amount of the burden of their tragedy.

I know, as some of the miners’ friends and families know, that the presence of those who died continues. I also know it is sometimes nearly overwhelming to continue in this life when the physical presence of our loved one disappears . . . that life with all of its distractions about money, dragons, cars, and sports seems like a circus of meaningless activities. Suddenly, we are faced with what is really important.

We die.

In knowing that we die and holding that space, that eventuality, we can know to be fully alive right now, to tenderly care for this moment and the next and the next, and within those moments, care and love those close to us, and those far away from us. This is just one way of holding space to encompass all of life and being present. I can be present to my own life and within that presence, I can be present to the lives of others.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “The presence of holding space”

  1. Snoopykg1 Says:

    Thanks for the reminder to be fully aware and in the moment.

    P.S…I have on my blog, my 1962 jalopy and also my first car,,,,,Its classic car day!

  2. 2010 in review « Eternal Presence Says:

    […] The busiest day of the year was December 4th with 119 views. The most popular post that day was The presence of holding space. […]

Leave a Reply

