The presence of pain

Pain (physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, whatever) is an indicator that I have cut off from me . . . blocked my flow of energy – the energy of well-being, love, inspiration, kindness, health, transformation – any energy that will take me from here to there; my pain can feel sharp, burning, clutching, sad, numb, bewildered, afraid, jagged, and it is all uncomfortable for a reason: to get my attention.

Emotional and mental pain send me the message that I believe something is wrong and often when I look at the source of my pain, that is where it has originated – in my thoughts, my expectations, my illusions – I believe something is wrong. Love and connection feel as if they are dying and leaving an empty spot when a friend, a lover, or a child leaves my life. I even grieved for 8 months after I quit smoking cigarettes because there were these huge empty spaces in my life that smoking (and the emotional equilibrium that nicotine provides) used to occupy. People are irreplaceable and I need to acknowledge their loss, yet at the same time, I need to remember that there are others in my life who I can connect with and love. Loss also opens up new possibilities, even though at the time, I may not want to admit it. Β 

Physical pain indicates that something in my body needs attention. Sometimes, pain is a gift. That blaze of rocketing flame in my chest might indicate a heart attack. I have to stop and look at exactly what needs attention and what kind of attention do I need? For an injury, I probably need a person with a medical degree. I am not going to stop, analyze and resolve the underlying issue to my injury right then (for example, when I set my thumb on fire with one of those sparklers we light up during the 4th of July, it was very evident from the golf ball size blister that visiting someone with burn treatment expertise would be a wise investment of my time and money). Other pain, like a headache, many times means I need sleep, a massage, less thinking, or a long, long walk in silence.

Spiritual pain is often present within any other kind of pain. I am a spiritual being and spiritual pain means I have cut off from that which is permanent and indestructible: my eternal presence and my connection to all that is. I am forever, as are those people who I might believe I have lost. Every creature on earth has the gift of self-comfort, including me.

I am on fire today – all my similes and metaphors and examples indicate something is ready to be lit up, cooked, heated, warmed, or incinerated.

Β©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “The presence of pain”

  1. holessence Says:

    Barbara – Your posts always serve to stir the juices in my brain.

    I love this observation that you make: “Loss also opens up new possibilities, even though at the time, I may not want to admit it.”

    “I am forever.” What a terrific statement!

    Another thought-provoking post as always – thank you.

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — as always, you are such a welcome presence here; hopefully, I have not stirred the juices in your brain into fermentation . . . πŸ˜€

  2. sandiwhite Says:

    I am watching carefully…if you are on fire today, I hope it is with love and joy. We can be phoenixes within our selves, burning so brightly as to be consumed by our passion of the day and then falling into heaps of ashes once the fuel is gone. I much prefer rapid oxidation ( fire ) to slow oxidation (rust), with fire you have heat, light, and a highly useful form of energy. With rust all you have is , well, rust. Pain is a difficult subject to work with and around, it is a sure indicator that something is wrong and needs to be remedied. You know what to do.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Sandi — yes, I would rather go in a big bright flash of light rather than dwindle away slowly bit by rusty bit. My fire usually is with love and joy, and like everyone else, occasionally I get consumed by my personal pain and loss — but that is the way of things.

  3. Snoopykg1 Says:

    Pain (physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, whatever) is an indicator that I have cut off from me . . . blocked my flow of energy – the energy of well-being, love, inspiration, kindness, health, transformation – any energy that will take me from here to there; my pain can feel sharp, burning, clutching, sad, numb, bewildered, afraid, jagged, and it is all uncomfortable for a reason: to get my attention.

    Barbara
    Boy you got my full attention on this one. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Gil Says:

    This one has blazed through to my center. Thanks

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hello, Gil! Thank you so much for visiting my new site πŸ™‚ I hope that you are safely blazing away and glad that what I wrote resonates in the very center of who you are.

Leave a Reply

