Presence in the moment

Both the past and the future are contained in the present moment. My actions from moment to moment determine the course of my life. The present moment is not only an effect of the past but also is a cause of the future. If the past predicts the future, then the way to create a different future is to create a new past each day by creating a different past today to look upon tomorrow.

That means today, what I do, think, say, believe, act, be, and feel needs to be how I want my future to look like: abundantly full of love, people who care for me, financial security, physical health and well-being, mental and emotional health and well-being. What I need to ask myself is: how would a person with all of these things already in her possession have done and continue to do to maintain them? And then I must set forth to do those things.

It is more than just seeing them in my mind. It is more than just positive thinking. It is more than the “law of attraction.” It is more than magically thinking my way to prosperity. It is the magical art of doing.

If I want more money, I need to find a way to earn more, invest more wisely, and spend less. I need to be an active participant in that. Yes, I can envision myself living a life of financial security and see myself with an abundance of money in my bank account and being debt-free. At the same time, I need to ask myself: what does a person who has those things do in order to achieve those goals?

If I want more people in my life to love and be loved by, the same questions follow: What does a person who loves and is loved abundantly do? Feel? Think? How does such a person act? In this very moment, what can I do to be more loving to myself and to others?

Life comes down to moments. This moment is really all I have. I choose to spend it wisely.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Presence in the moment”

  1. holessence Says:

    Barbara –

    I love when you said:

    “I need to be an active participant.”

    That’s vital.

    I thank you for more wonderful food for thought.

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — neither one of us believe that life is a spectator sport; we like to be on the field and engaged. We may not always “play for keeps” but we want to play.

  2. Snoopykg1 Says:

    OMG I am unfortunately unable to say I am a full actiive participant sometimes or I acknowldge a lot of the time!

    I loved the following insights….If I want more people in my life to love and be loved by, the same questions follow: What does a person who loves and is loved abundantly do? Feel? Think? How does such a person act? In this very moment, what can I do to be more loving to myself and to others?

    I honestly have numerous people in my life, however How does such a person really act? I sometimes conder what I am doing incorrectly….

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Kim — I don’t know that anyone can achieve this level of perfect presence (any human that is . . . i think my cat does it fairly regularly); it is one of our challenges, to try to stay in the moment and not get all caught up in the past or future. We tend to use the past and future to create our moment instead of creating the moment to use the past as a lesson and the future as desire.

  3. sandiwhite Says:

    Barbara, this a great recipe for a wonderful future. This has been said before and bears repeating, “If you aim at nothing, you’ll hit the mark every time.” I can dream a good garden, but thought alone won’t lift a hoe and weed those beans. I want to have a satisfying day at work, I plan my agenda and try to be a good person to customers and co-workers. Nothing begets nothing and a bit of time and labor invested in your future is always going to work out for you.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Sandi — you are one of the hardest working people I know! Plus you know a lot about what is required for a good recipe in life. Moment to moment awareness takes just as much work as living in the past or living in the future, no more, no less, and it is ultimately more rewarding.

Leave a Reply

