The presence of space

I am starving for some empty space in my life . . . not physical empty space but mental and emotional empty space. Meditation creates empty space in its presence. To get to a meditative space, I need to let go of my current collection of clutter.

How I fill the space in my life is my choice. What I am physically doing or mentally preoccupied with in any moment is the result of choices that I made in previous moments. One of the benefits of memory is being able to see how the past predicts the future. If I continue to choose to fill my life space with distraction and imaginary responsibilities (i.e., taking care of others’ wants), I will find myself always too busy to make space for what I really want to be and do in my life.

My intent is to become more mindful of making choices of what I will allow to occupy space in my life. Today, I will look at each moment, savor it, be with it, and trust that by being present, I will make different choices and open up my life space.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “The presence of space”

  1. holessence Says:

    Barbara –

    I just KNEW I would return to another thought-provoking blob post by you this morning, and I was right!

    “How I fill the space in my life is my choice.”

    I am in COMPLETE and TOTAL agreement with you.

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — some days I just wake up in a mood . . . and feel the need to make different choices than I made yesterday. And the only way I know to do that is to be mindful of what is going on in my head, in my emotions, and physically where the heck I am going.

  2. ntexas99 Says:

    barbara – I guess it was meant to be that I come here and read this today, because lately I’ve been unknowingly struggling with this very issue. I especially loved “I need to let go of my current collection of clutter”. My mind has been preoccupied with all sorts of distractions and worries, and I had completely forgotten the very basic truth that “How I fill the space in my life is my choice”. Remembering to be personally accountable for what you allow to occupy your “space” reminds us to be mindful and deliberate in our choices. Thanks for sharing this gentle reminder. (ps … thanks again for the other help, too).

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Nancy – so glad you came by. You know as well as I do that the monkey mind will run endless circles and consume all of our free mind space and then start snatching space away from other thoughts that really require some attention. I speak for myself when I notice that my mind has paid little attention to my writing lately and instead has preoccupied me with details from commitments I made months ago. Now, those commitments are coming to an end (a huge one on Wednesday – the sale of my condo went through and I am closing on Wednesday; that will be a huge relief and leave lots more empty space in my head). I am very much looking forward to reading your blog, Nancy. Let us know when you are open for business.

  3. Snoopykg1 Says:

    Hi there Barbara,
    Being in the moment is a lot easier in some ways and harder in others.
    I am beginning to see the joy of those “in the moment” times and see definite differences when I am not in the moment. In my life there is the key of flexibility, and the ability to be flexible in my thinking that is the greatest challenge.

    Restlessness is also an issue I am discerning that is happening because of this. I would guess it is the yin and yang of action and inaction.

    Have a great evening. 🙂
    Kim
    butterfliesgalore.wordpress.com

  4. Barbara Kass Says:

    Hi, Kim — I understand restlessness; for me, it means there is something coming into my life that I need to get ready for, but I am not quite sure what it is I need to do. I am not sure any of us can be “perfectly present” but I know that there are times when I am in the moment so completely that I forget that there is anything else except the moment.

  5. Snoopykg1 Says:

    I also find that when I am present in the moment it is almost like time stands still or goes very slowly.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

