Toltec presence

In his latest book, The Fifth Agreement, don Miguel Ruiz shares with us Toltec wisdom. Toltec means artist. We are artists of everything: our words, our wisdom, our spirits, our truths . . . in other words, our lives.

When I came across this definition in his book, I became enamored of the idea that not only am I the creator of my own existence, I am the artist as well. I can color my world, shape my thoughts, design my interactions, and even critique the results. To be an artist means to take creation one step further after invention.

I can speak and write words. I can call something or someone beautiful, and people will know that I appreciate what I see. However, I can call that same thing or person enchanting, and suddenly people know not only do I consider them beautiful, but also how their beauty affects me.

In creating my world, I know I need to take care with my word in how I describe what I view, my interactions with others, and myself. My life is a canvas on which I paint words, thoughts, and actions. How I color them, the shape and form they take, and how I choose for them to affect me is my choice.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Toltec presence”

  1. holessence Says:

    Barbara – I just love that definition and I’m so glad you shared it here! And it really hits home when you say,

    “My life is a canvas on which I paint words, thoughts, and actions. How I color them, the shape and form they take, and how I choose for them to affect me is my choice.”

    Good food for thought today — thank you.

  2. Barbara Kass Says:

    Hi, Laurie — this book and Toltec wisdom has really grabbed my attention. The author writes with such simplicity and the messages are so clear.

  3. sandiwhite Says:

    Hi, Barbara, I did not know that Toltec meant artist. I have been interested in the Toltecs ever since I read about the legend of Kokopelli, the flute player. Good Post.

  4. Snoopykg1 Says:

    Barbara,
    Thanks for sharing this, as I just finished reading the Four Agreements.
    It shows that I am the painter of my own destiny, even at the ,cost of those thaat try to contriol it. That is like someone else trying to take the brush out of the painters hand or perhaps the pen out of a writers grasp. It is just not something that is done to others that you are supposed to love.
    It is sad but true, sometimes the ones that we love are the ones that try to control us the most, so their painting has light, is not torn or splattered, while leaving yours in the dark, tattered and torn. Keeping all the good brushes for themselves and not listening to you color needs.
    It is also like some contoling body telling the birds to not sing or the sun to not shine.

    Very thought provoking/.
    Kim

    http://butterfliesgalore.wordpress.com

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Kim — we all are guilty of trying to paint another person’s life; as mothers, we try to shape our children so they can survive, succeed, and become who we believe them to be. We do this out of love and caring and concern. It is all we know to do because that is what was done to us. Once we understand that others do to us what was done to them then we can become conscious and aware that we do the same to others as was done to us; awareness brings the ability to make a different choice.

Leave a Reply

