Walking talking presence

One may be letter-perfect in reciting the Lotus Sutra, but it is far more difficult to act as it teaches. -Nichiren

In other words, some of us talk the walk with ease but find it more difficult to walk the talk.

Nichiren was a Japanese Buddhist monk who lived during the 13th century. His philosophy was that one can be enlightened and learn the ways of the Buddha by following the teachings in the Lotus Sutra.

The Lotus Sutra itself is a daunting document to read, much less employ. Yet, I know I don’t have to understand each and every line to know how to live my life. My big question is: am I living the life I think, talk, and write about? The life I know my soul needs to be living?

Coming up with the words is easy. Walking the way of my words in the world is a little more difficult. There is that “reality” thing that I like to use as an excuse not to meditate . . . or exercise . . . or write . . . or market my writing. There is other work to be done that nags at me. “Reality” keeps blocking my way down my path. I think, talk, and write about connecting with another person’s eternal presence, yet “reality” has me so distracted when I am with others that I more often forget than remember. I am too busy trying to respond to whatever demand they are making of me in the moment.  

When I am catering to the “woe is me” attitude, I stop to remember how I have in the past walked my talk and accomplished everything that got me here to the luxury . . . I repeat – LUXURY – of even worrying about bringing my true presence to life. I am a thousand times more of who I truly am and living the life that I truly mine than I was even five years ago.

I don’t settle, though. I doubt that I will ever stop talking about the walk and working to walk the talk. That word “working” has caught my attention in a big way right now and you might hear more about it tomorrow.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Walking talking presence”

  1. holessence Says:

    “… I more often forget than remember.”

    Barbara, you shoot straight from the heart. I sincerely appreciate the way you share. I enjoyed your entire piece, but pulled out that wee bit because i– n a completely different context — it reminded me of the excellent book, “Remembering the Future” by Colette Baron Reid.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — the forgetting is a challenge for me; I need to take special note of it because it could be one of those lessons I came here to learn: to stay present and remember.

  2. Snoopykg1 Says:

    I remember and try when I am in the moment, it is difficult to not think of your own needs, issues, comments, than to be in the moment, be present to another and walk the talk, all in one breathe. I am not even sure if a breathe class might help, or it might help just a wee bit.

    Laurie, I really think you do not forget very often! or that has not been my experiance anyway.

    Take care all….

    Kim

Leave a Reply

