Allowing presence

Yesterday I wrote about working to bring my true presence to life. Now, I wonder if a more proper and supportive word might be “allow.”

“Allow” is a nice, polite way of saying “get out of my own way.” Allow means I have given myself permission. Just getting out of the way has a more passive attitude, and has the same results – more of who I truly am emerges to be in the world.

At times I feel my eternal presence cloaked beneath thoughts that keep me safely hidden away from being truly engaged with life. I feel as if I (the me who acts as the agent of transition between the surface personality my mind insists is who I need to be to survive and the me who exists eternally) has to set the perfect stage, have the right circumstances, and then persuade myself into being my eternal presence.

That’s a lot of work. I am not sure that all of life has to be work. Focus . . . perhaps. Remembering . . . certainly. Being present . . . absolutely. All of these activities imply some energy expenditure is required. But then, aren’t I spending energy developing and supporting the superficial presence I bring to the world?

How I use my energy, what I think, and how I act (or not) is a moment-by-moment decision. By stepping aside and connecting with my eternal presence, more of these decisions will support being in the world as who I truly am.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “Allowing presence”

  1. jeffstroud Says:

    Barbara,

    Yes and I wish to respond to both of your post fully through the essences of time.
    Most of all in this blog/writing I like how you have shifted the words, language is just as important in the energy of what we say and think even to ourselves.
    Allow is a good expression of openness, getting out of the way, seems like one is being stubborn, yet what I sense from your writing is ease and willingness to move along the path.
    Your last paragraph sums it all up beautifully. “How I use my energy, what I think, and how I act (or not) is a moment-by-moment decision. By stepping aside and connecting with my eternal presence, more of these decisions will support being in the world as who I truly am.”

    I am Love, Jeff

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Jeff — I struggle with the stubborn thing . . . in polite company, I call it “perseverence” or “tenacity” but since we are being honest here, I have to call it like it is: stubborn. The further I get down the path, though, the more I find that I am really just making it all up as I go along, responding to life with my vision of what I want in the background. Thank you so much for your company today.

  2. holessence Says:

    Barbara – Your posts always provide excellent food for thought – thank you. Today is another prime example. I’ll be pondering the words you served up as they relate to how we live moment-by-moment:

    allow, focus, remembering, being present

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie! You’d think by now, you’d be a whole lot fatter feasting on these words! There are some shifts going on inside of me right now as if I am settling in for something massive (massive in a good growing way). Stay tuned.

  3. Snoopykg1 Says:

    “Being truly engaged with life”
    Boy am I stubborm with that statement. Sometimes I feel like I am not truly engageds with life, on the other hand at times I think others are not engaged with the same life. Shifts are a good thing, as we are always changinh, shifting, growing….I do feel like ZI sm experiancing a simikar path….Light…Divine Enlightment?? Possibly. we choose to do this….

    Kim
    http://butterfliesgalore.wordpress.com

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Kim — I know you have read The Four Agreements; if you haven’t read The Fifth Agreement, I highly recommend it. If you have, you will recognize the part where don Miguel Ruiz has you imagine yourself watching you watch you in a motion picture of your life through your eyes; then, you go to another theatre and watch your mother see herself in the same scene and what you discover is that everyone IS living a different reality — they are not living the same life as you are and while we can empathize with others in their experience, no one can ever know another person’s experience. My shifting is currently very deep, and I feel myself living less and less in my head and more and more in my body.

  4. holessence Says:

    Barbara – “Massive.” Now you’ve REALLY piqued my curiosity!

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — as I told Kim above, the shift I feel is very deep and I have these moments where I am totally out of my head and being only in my body, and very much aware that I am. These deep shifts are like movements of the ocean floor; no one really notices them but they cause massive change in the entire structure of the earth.

  5. holessence Says:

    Barbara – I’m all ears; listening with my heart. Keep me posted.

  6. holessence Says:

    By the way, Ted left another comment on Speaking from the Heart. http://holessence.wordpress.com/2010/05/10/when-pigs-fly/

Leave a Reply

