Shifting presence

Humans rely upon words to do the majority of their communicating. We talk to ourselves relentlessly – it’s called “thinking.” Others communicate with us using words, either speaking them or writing them. We can sometimes rely upon actions: a gesture, a glance, the silent message of just walking away. Actions, like words, are subject to interpretation. Our brains work very hard to make sense of all that we encounter.

If I pay close attention to my inner process when I think, I find that one aspect of me is blabbing away, another aspect is listening, and yet a third aspect is observing. My body is responding to this chatter as well, sending messages that make my response to life a more accurate reflection of who I truly am . . . should I choose to be.

This is a gifted way of being in the world – a way of being that allows me to interact when I am fully present. There’s so much going on inside and outside of me that I need to pay attention to. If I am not present, I will miss some key messages from someone or somewhere.

I worry that turning off my thinking might cause me to not respond in a way that supports me or other people. But, as I mentioned in yesterday’s writing, my being in the world has moments of full presence without thought. Of course my brain latched on to this with a ferocity that won’t let go. And the answers that I seek seem to find me right when I need them.

Last night, I stumbled across “silent knowledge” in don Miguel Ruiz’s book, The Fifth Agreement. My term for silent knowledge is the wordless place. Ruiz writes that silent knowledge is truth that we know and feel without words. As I shift into my wordless place, I am more the presence that exists for eternity. It is from here that I wish to respond to life.   

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Shifting presence”

  1. holessence Says:

    “My term for silent knowledge is the wordless place.”

    Barbara, as I read through your post this morning, I realized that my term for silent knowledge is “sacred space.” As you said, it’s there, “I am more the presence that exists for eternity.”

    I will be coming back to this post throughout the day to re-read what you have shared. Thank you.

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Sometimes I write these things, Laurie, and I come back at the end of the day and realize “oh, my! Where was THAT person all day long?!” I need to start printing them out and taking them to work so I can read them throughout the day, too.

  2. jeffstroud Says:

    Barbara,

    Once again I am in the midst of your words, your experience, having been there and seeking to continue to move through those states of Being…
    As Laurie, above I am going to be coming back to your post here, for many of them are on my mind, and the journey you are on.
    For now I am leaving you with this:
    http://www.care2.com/greenliving/transforming-busyness-into-composure-and-results.html

  3. Barbara Kass Says:

    Thanks for the link, Jeff. I like the idea of having my essence for living in a song (I am tone deaf in “real” life but could easily get on board with being able to carry my own tune). And, I am happy to say that I am letting go of a number of things in my life that contributed to both my physical and mind busyness. While I am in this place of shifting, I am going to take advantage of the opportunity to create a few new habits that are more in harmony with my song: meditating daily to the shamanic drum recordings, writing daily on a larger project. take good care.

  4. Snoopykg1 Says:

    Clearing and letting go of things in our journey that cause physical and mind busyness, causing a shift in thinking, perhaps less thinking. There is left more time to just be, and we do not even realize it. I find this with my new buddy-OREZ, while focusing on him, I let go and am clear about things. Life seems simpler and more pleasurabke, not to mention being in the present. Such a small thing can make a huge difference. Letting go of mind busyness is what I am working on, trying to refocus that energy to productive outcomes.

    I too find myself rading your blog in the morning and coming back to it inn my mind all day. Thanks for sharing and the clarity of explaining sometimes difficult explanations.

    Kim
    http://butterfliesgalore.wordpress.com

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Kim — isn’t it amazing how animals can bring us into such a pleasurable presence? Right now, I have a cat in my lap and it is hard to tell who is purring the loudest, me or her. I very much appreciate you sharing such supportive words about my blog. Writing is one of my best ways for getting the noise out of my head and making sense of myself.

Leave a Reply

