a difficult presence

Day three of admitting to my powerless capacity in the world:

• Getting other people to pick up after themselves
• How other people will respond to me (period)
• If the cat chooses to eat
• If anyone responds to my blog
• If the rain will stop so I can play tennis

Recognized difficulty of the day: responding with love when someone is not being or behaving like I know they could be (or “should” be).

When am more of who I came to this earth to be, everyone around me knows it and they respond in kind. I can tell the difference. When someone is behaving as who I know they really are not, who am I being that would attract that kind of behavior from them? I am not responsible for anyone’s behavior, but something about me is making them feel either safe enough or threatened enough to respond in a certain way. Because I am powerless over anyone’s response to me, the only power left to me is how I respond to them.

I am working to bring/allow more of my eternal presence in the present moment especially when I find myself dealing with someone who is irritating me or responding in a manner towards me that I don’t like, and I will see what changes. The more I live as who I am no matter what is going on around me, the more alive I am, and the more able I am to respond with love when those who I love the most really, really need it.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “a difficult presence”

  1. Snoopykg2 Says:

    My issue is what to do when those that are supposed to love you give the cold shoulder most of the time, like everything is urgently more important than the relationship that is there right in front of them. I am sadly meeting this smack right in the middle right between the eyes. Is it selfish to want a little attention once in a while from someone you have been with for 31 years….
    Powerless at best…when I so want to control…it doeS really suck and not sure why to stick around :”-(

    At a loss for words and powerless

    Kim

  2. Barbara Kass Says:

    Hi, Kim — I hear, feel, and see your struggle. My instinct is that the person you are talking about has issues with his/her own importance and probably does not want to face just HOW important you are in his/her world. And, no, you do not have to stick around. You are free to make your life, live your life, and be Kim. Trying to get attention from someone who is obviously threatened when he/she gives attention to you is an exercise in futility and frustration. Perhaps, you need to give you the kind of attention you want. Where in your life have you given up focusing on you and instead focused on others? Start with being your own best friend. That is the power you have for life.

  3. holessence Says:

    “… the only power left to me is how I respond to them.”

    loving, Loving, LOVING this series, Barbara!

    After I finished what I felt I “should” do today, I took myself to the movies and I saw “Letters to Juliet” (loved it – Vanessa Redgrave is simply beautiful). Then I stopped at the store on the way home and bought a fresh baugette, some blue stilton cheese, and two Gala apples. I treated myself like who I am — my own best friend.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — what a wonderful day! And here all’s I did was pig out on Jonathan food . . .. 😉

      Looking at how powerless I am in the world and how it affects me is helping me learn to “tend my own garden.” Like you, though, I don’t ignore world events and feel certainly strong and capable enough to acknowledge the lives of others, sending them both my joy for their happiness and my sympathy/empathy for when they are hurting. I am looking forward to class on Energy Medicine 101 today by the way at Speaking from the Heart

Leave a Reply

