Nonattached presence

Although the inner world of self and the external world of reality appear to be distinct, ultimately they are not two, but one-not just closely interconnected or mutually dependent, but inseparable from one another. In Buddhism, we call this oneness “the true aspect of all phenomena,” the ultimate truth, or the Buddha nature. Nichiren also called it the Mystic Law, which he expressed as Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo. -Buddha in Your Mirror (sharingbuddhism.com)

I’ve been thinking about my stolen virtual items and how I view that theft within my larger belief system. If virtual items exist in any reality, they exist as part of the One. So, in essence they are still here, just not in my presence.

Everything else that I am is still here in my presence. No one can steal away my sense about myself. In fact, this virtual theft of digitized possessions has brought me around to meet me.

I am surprised today to find that I have developed this quality of nonattachment. As I play the game, I realize that there are many things I cannot do with my characters without their appropriate gear and items. And, I don’t find it as frustrating as I thought I might. I find freedom in being able to see other paths that I can take with my characters and still enjoy playing the game. Their world can be recreated.

Even more surprising, I found that I did not have any attachment to the responses that I got when I told my sad tale to others. All responses have been welcome as a matter of me sharing my life with others. In my life, I have been a person who once required everyone to agree with me and give me the response I expected.

It does not even bother me that some people don’t care at all. Even a nonresponse is only that: no response. The only meaning it might have is meaning I might attach to it.

Some time ago, I wrote about being on the verge of something very big in my life.

This is it.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Nonattached presence”

  1. holessence Says:

    “The only meaning it might have is meaning I might attach to it.”

    [Said about anything in life] To my way of thinking Barbara, this, in and of itself, is huge.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — for me to be okay with having no meaning in my life is absolutely huge. For me to be okay with not being attached to attaching meaning to my life is a miracle.

  2. ButterfliesGalore-Kimberly Grady Says:

    Just saying that you are a miracle, without any attachment of meaning..

  3. jeffstroud Says:

    It certainly is something Big! It is a joy to read your blog and witness your process, your journey !

    I am Love, Jeff

  4. sandiwhite Says:

    Yep, that’s a biggie. You’ve got to have the cojones to say it and mean it.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Well, Sandi, on paper I am about as brave and blatant as I can be and still attract a readersihp. In person, I have learned to be less, um, forceful in my opinions and beliefs. I got to the point where it does not matter to me if the other person believes me, agrees with me, or thinks I am an idiot. I get plenty of support for being me — and you are one of the people I count on.

Leave a Reply

