The presence of virtual restoration

I am once again all powerful and pack a fireball that can knock out an enemy with a simple wave of my hand.

My trinkets, my jewels, my gear, my weapons, my gold, my herbs, my potions, and my confidence have been restored to my virtual characters on World of Warcraft. They came to me via virtual e-mail from the virtual presence of a person who I believe to be as real as I am. All of the items are exactly what I lost . . . even the money which was counted down to the last copper penny. The virtual memory of digital life left a blueprint so that everything could be replicated.

In three dimensional life, perfect replication is impossible. Inside binary code, perfect replication is a necessity. For computer programs to successfully work, they must do the exact same thing over and over and over again. Everything can be restored completely and, if you do the back-up systems and keep the memory intact, you can replicate virtual existence at any point in the past.

But if just one digitized zero is misplaced, the program code goes haywire. All of it. You have to find that missing zero and replace it for virtual life to continue. Virtual life then goes on as if nothing had happened.

Restoration in three dimensional life is a little different. I am changed as a result of the intrusion upon my virtual life. Just because my virtual personas have been made whole, does this mean I have been made whole as well? Nothing is missing from my presence, except that the trust I place upon other virtual presences has been altered. The presence of the thieves has caused me to pull my trust closer and withhold it from them. My willingness to trust changed also because of the response of the company who sells and maintains the World of Warcraft environment. It expanded and grew larger to encompass more of the people who work there.

It is difficult for me to separate out what was a voluntary decision on my part and what is my instinctive programming. Trust is a survival quality that we are born with and needs to be tended to with mindful attentiveness. To gain the trust of others, we must replicate behaviors with reliable consistency. If we falter and fail just once, the trust program in others changes. Restoration is a long and arduous process.

I am more whole today than I was before. Every life incident teaches me, enlarges me, expands me, and grows me.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The presence of virtual restoration”

  1. holessence Says:

    “I am more whole today than I was before. Every life incident teaches me, enlarges me, expands me, and grows me.”

    Barbara – I love your resilience. You could have tucked your tail and decided to never play again. But you didn’t.

    It brings to mind our friend Ted in New Zealand. He was told, “You’re going to die in five months.” His response, “No I’m not.”

  2. Barbara Kass Says:

    Hi, Laurie — thanks for coming by! I am having a really fine time in this new space of nonattachment and deciding for myself how I am going to respond to life. I am so much better now at gravitating towards the thoughts and feelings that make me feel good. I throw my hissy fit, get upset, and acknowledge any feelings that immediately rise, and then I wait until I have a clear moment, realizing that I get to decide how to think and feel about what has happened.

Leave a Reply

