The Presence of January

She is quite possibly the most exquisite creation to grace earthlings in a millennia.

Reader, be warned . . . I might be a little biased in my opinion seeing how I am the grandmother of this darling of a girl who has been epitome of my existence. Yes . . . there are moments when I know I was born so that she could have her particular entry into this human form at this particular time.

January is a total presence. She has been given permission and fully accepts her right to be exactly who she is. Her only responsibility right now is to grow, unfold, and blossom.

She wears her presence well. I watch her cycle through and reflect to the world what is going on with her at any moment. She is honest in her assessment although lately she is learning how to phrase her honesty so as to not hurt a person’s feelings. She is in love with life and wants only for life to love her back.

Every moment of her presence is about creating. She creates conversation where there is none. She fashions games to play on long car drives where the only playing pieces are our minds. She will hunt around for odds and ends and any coloring devices handy to turn a cardboard box into a cabinet.

She loves American Girl, wearing dresses, and brushing the kitty’s teeth “squeaky” clean. I am not sure how the cat feels about that.

When we are together, there is little else that I pay attention to. I let my hobbies and chores fall by the wayside. They will still be there after January goes home. It is hard for me to let her go, but I knew that was the deal the second I was told of her existence. Months and months before her birth, I became enamored and attached, and I didn’t even know who she was then.

She brings my attention to the perfect unique being that each of us are. There is nothing else to worry about, nothing else to desire, nothing else to aspire to. She has taught me that we are perfect just the way we are today.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “The Presence of January”

  1. holessence Says:

    Barbara – I have no idea why, but your post brought happy tears to my eyes. Thank you.

    It’s been a long, wonderful day. I taught Reiki Level 2 for certification at HolEssence. I’m back home now, but down for the count. But I couldn’t not comment on your post — it spoke to my heart.

  2. Barbara Kass Says:

    Long day for you, Laurie — you earned your rest! I have had a weekend full of January so I need my rest, too. But she is such a delight when she visits I am happily exhausted. Talk to you tomorrow.

  3. sandiwhite Says:

    I sat and smiled broadly through your description of January’s Presence. Little girls are such fun and life filled creatures. You would almost think they were put here on Earth to amaze and amuse the Creator. What brains these little ones have, not always focused on Princesses and Fairies, but always at work on something to make your journey together a little more entrancing and some times a little too exiting. You are Blessed in your January and she is Blessed in you.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Sandi — you are so right. I am blessed by the grace of God to have her in my life. She has taught me so much about loving, letting go, and accepting. It was through my total acceptance of her and who she is that I am learning to do the same for others.

  4. dennycoates Says:

    There’s an awful lot of love that post. January is lucky to have you as a grandmother to be a positive influence.

    For me, a new grand-niece was born this weekend, Ashtyn. I saw her during her first day on earth. She’s a beautiful infant and already in the first day I can tell she’s different from her 2-year-old sister. And yes, she’s PERFECT.

    At the same time, I want her to learn well and grow well and evolve as a person.

    At my age, I wish the same thing for myself. I want to grow beyond my current condition of perfection, which, in a real sense, is clearly not so perfect. And in a way, I don’t want to strive for perfection. I feel that doing my best to continue growing is good enough. So I don’t use the word “perfect” very often, especially with most of the people I know or learn about, who create problems for themselves and others. I wish for them that they would work on becoming better versions of themselves.

    Best wishes for more wonderful times as a grandparent!

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Denny — thanks for coming by! Yes, I wear my adoration of my granddaughter like diamonds and mink: flashy in undisguised, limitless wealth. It is the best treat of life. Her presence brings me so much into the moment, and in each moment, I realize we are perfect just the way we are. I, like you, aspire to be more of who I truly am, and I don’t think I will ever be perfectly finished in my becoming. It is part of don Miguel Ruiz’s Four Agreements — the fourth agreement is to just do your best all the time. And sometimes our best is not as good as it might be other times, but in that moment, I am doing my best.

  5. ntexas99 Says:

    hi barbara … January sounds like a delightful and precious grandchild. My own grandchildren are in the tween and teen years already – I surely do miss those early days of wonder and inquisitiveness. Now I’m evolving to become the kind of nana that knows how to keep an open mind, be their champion, and go with the flow. I always enjoy the stories you share about January. You can feel the love pouring forth!

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Nancy — when January gets to the tween and teen years, I will probably be begging you for advice. Some days, she can be a real force to contend with having a mind of her own and being (as near as I can tell) fearless. I think both her Dad and I are working real hard real fast to make sure she is on solid emotional and intellectual ground before those hormones kick in.

Leave a Reply

