Earthquake Presence!

The earth moved today.

Really. It moved right under my feet.

There was an earthquake here in Maryland at about 5:05 a.m. About 3 miles beneath the surface, the earth readjusted itself, released a little pressure, and sent shock waves through the rock and soil. Its epicenter was about 10 miles up the road from where I live. It registered 3.6 so, in the larger scheme of things, a mere hiccup of the tectonic plates.

Yet, it was some of the more powerful trembling I have ever felt and a noise like thunder that went on for about 10 seconds . . . just a bit too long to be comfortable.

The Magic cat yawned through the entire thing, but I have been mesmerized all day by the fact that the earth moved. I have come to depend upon the earth staying in one place and remaining stable. Yes, I know we are spinning and hurtling through space at a bazillion miles an hour, but I am spinning and hurtling along at the same speed so I don’t really notice. Today, a part of the earth moved out of sync and reminded me that none of this is as secure as we want to believe. That it is forever is just an illusion.

There is a more powerful presence in the universe. It is the presence that sends things into motion. It is the energy that creates. We are that energy, too, along with the earth, the stars, the moon, and distant suns. We were set into motion by the same power that allows the earth to shift its weight to bear its burden.

For all I know, we are that power.

Think about that the next time life shakes you up a little.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Earthquake Presence!”

  1. holessence Says:

    “Today, a part of the earth moved out of sync …”

    Barbara, I really enjoyed reading this post. I like your perspective.

    Your words reminded me of the first time Eoghan was in an earthquake. He was 3 years old. We were in southern California and the earth had been really rumbling for about a minute when he came into the kitchen, one hand on a hip, and the other pointed at me and said, “You can turn it off now!”

    It amazed me that he either (a) thought I had started it, or (b) thought I had the power to stop it.

    Have a FANTASTIC weekend!

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      that is so funny, Laurie. I can just imagine him doing that, too. A powerful Jedi you must be! The seismic action here has never been as high as a 3.6; usually we fall below 3 so today really got our attention. I hope you have a fantastic weekend, too!

  2. sandiwhite Says:

    I am so glad you are alright, I know it wasn’t very strong on the Scale of major earthquakes but having it come out of left field can be unsettling. Several years ago, maybe 7 or 8, this part of Georgia rippled from a 5.whatever quake about 5.30 A.M. when a lot of folks are starting their day. Although it is not an unheard of occurrence in our state, it was unusual enough to give us dinner table table conversation for many days running. Judging from the wild, upright hair and wild, nervous eyes of the ones who were awake enough to experience the shock, our nervous systems are not all as calm as we would like to believe. Yep, Mother Gaia has her ways of getting our attention.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Sandi — what was really interesting was how my mind locked on to trying to figure out what was going on while my body kept saying “something’s wrong here.” I must have some kind of peculiar belief that if I can figure out what is going on, then everything will be okay. Ha! Next time, I am finding a very sturdy doorway to stand in!

Leave a Reply

