The Presence of God

No, it’s not the second coming and not to be confused with a second helping .

I am talking about the presence of God in my life, in my being, in my beliefs, in my thoughts, in my feelings . . . you get the picture. What is God to me?

The third step in Alcoholics Anonymous 12-step program is: Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood Him.

I take the liberty of substituting “Him” with “it” or “Her” or “the concept” or “that guy” or “the Oneness” or “Spirit” or “the Creator” or “the Divine” or “(you fill it in).”

When I went through the class at Loyola on substance abuse and addictive behavior, this particular step caught my attention because I am not sure that I have completely let go of the God defined for me through the Catholic church in my youth. And I am not real keen on that God. He is not a nice person. Adults used to hold God over my head like a sword threatening to chop it off to make me behave like they wanted me to. God was mean and liked to smite people. There were all these commandments to follow. Sunday mass was as boring and tedious as watching knitting on television.

I’m not likely to turn my life over to the care of someone like that.

But I believe that I belong to and within a greater, larger, all-encompassing power. I have not fully defined my relationship with that power or named it “God.” I don’t know who or what “God” is.

My true presence knows but is currently silent on the subject. I always take this as a signal that I need to do some inner exploring. For my presence, whatever God is just is. There is no need to define. For the squirrely human that I am, definition is everything.

Hmmm . . . I think it might be time to write a book. Books can take a long time to write, so I need to get started right away.

You never know when that second coming is . . . well, coming.

And just in case it happens tonight, I am going to have a second helping of ice cream.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “The Presence of God”

  1. holessence Says:

    Barbara – you are singularly responsible for the gigantic smile that’s plastered across my face. What a delightful, refreshing post. “There is no need to define.” Amen! And on that note, I’ll go have a helping of ice cream (or two)…

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — yes, I am in a mood today. Sometimes I just get to the point where I have to stop taking myself so seriously. I found this neat little paragraph in my Science of Mind magazine today, which I will probably write about tomorrow. It is all about how God is being expressed through us. Good night and enjoy your ice cream!

  2. ButterfliesGalore-Kimberly Grady Says:

    I will be having a double of water! I don’t drink enough water. Perhaps its a penance against my self….

    We are all searching on the ;ourney things don’t seem to make sense.

    I encourage you to the website Cathoicscomehome.com for things that others have questioned about their faith journey

    In Love
    Kim

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Kim — I will definitely visit the Web site. And, yes, drink your water! Your body is like 90% water so if you don’t drink enough you will just dry up and wrinkle like a prune. Much of this journey does not make sense and I still get the feeling that we are doing it all wrong . . . that most of what we focus on in life is only distraction. But that is what my book is about.

  3. ButterfliesGalore-Kimberly Grady Says:

    Thanks
    I appreciate your openness…As for the water…I need to somehow turn on my thirst mechanism
    Somehow, wothout takig in more thigs like salt.
    I have not read too much about it but I have a hunch it is beause my fight/ flight/freeze response is so screwed up!
    Could be a cradle Catholic thing…you never know.

    Kim

  4. Consciousness and Spirituality Says:

    Coram Deo: Reflections on Presence Reviews…

    This is great! I’ve added this to my blog (trackbak) if you don’t mind? Let me know if you do….

Leave a Reply

