The presence of memory

It has only been two weeks since the Magic cat left and her absence still looms large in my days and nights. That little cat taught me a very significant lesson about being present: I need to pay attention to now because I am creating tomorrow’s memories.

At first, I thought it was an odd way to be present because it presumes there will be a tomorrow when all we really know is that we have the eternal present. There are these past presents, though, that come around to haunt me either with their sorrow or with their joy. With my 20/20 hindsight, I can clearly see and know how I could have been more present, how I could have responded differently.

If I get caught up in the woes of yesterday or the endless search to recreate my pleasures, I will miss the present opportunities. Given the cyclical nature of most people’s behaviors, there will likely be other events for me to practice a new and different response. Each time I practice a different response, I create a new memory that can support me in all my tomorrows. I can capture the essence of joy and imprint its feeling in my cells. The memory of joy helps balance the sorrows and losses that often fill me in the last moments of those I love.

Each present moment is a lesson. The studying and learning of life comes with the reflection of the memory. While we may not always have a choice over the events in our lives, we always have a choice on how we are going to apply the lesson we interpret from those events.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “The presence of memory”

  1. holessence Says:

    Barbara – I especially love when you said:

    “I need to pay attention to now because I am creating tomorrow’s memories.”

    “With my 20/20 hindsight, I can clearly see and know how I could have been more present, how I could have responded differently.”

    “Given the cyclical nature of most people’s behaviors, there will likely be other events for me to practice a new and different response.”

    Has anyone ever told you that you’re a very wise woman? A wise woman, indeed.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — if I am so wise, then how come I do such stupid things? If I was really so smart, I would follow my own advice! I feel as if I am learning all of my lessons very late in life.

  2. ButterfliesGalore-Kimberly Grady Says:

    Amen

    I love the last phrase about how we apply the lesson!

    ::hugs::
    Kim

  3. sandiwhite Says:

    Thank you for reminding me! I am so caught up in my daily rounds , in a hurry to finish and get on to something else that I often forget that this is a moment that will not return. I am to make the most of it not instead of saying, ” I will think about when I have the time.” Now IS the time.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Sandi — it is a good lesson for me to remember every moment that I can. I miss that silly cat, and I don’t mind. My missing her reminds me to treasure each moment of my life and work to make each moment something to remember well.

Leave a Reply

