The presence of transformation

Lately, most everything I have been reading sounds like I have read it before . . . much of it numerous times. The subjects are the same. The writers are rehashing old materials, adding a new twisty phrase or a personal glimpse. That might make the piece more interesting, but it is still the same story. I know that many of us need to hear the same message over and over and over in their endless variations before we finally hear the message and then hear it some more before we finally apply the message to our lives. What I want to know is: where are the new messages?

I’ve heard it said that every thought that could possibly be had has already been thought of before and now all we are doing is thinking the same thoughts over and over again but just saying them in different ways. I am not quite sure I believe this because I doubt that anyone would have thought to “Google” something or perform a face transplant before the year 2000.

Except . . . they would have used their own time’s equivalent of search and repair or transformation.

We are telling the same stories over and over, with the same themes and having the same results. What we need are transformational stories . . . the kind with messages that make us think of a different way of being in the world. These stories have to come from our eternal presence, the one who is practiced in the ways of transformation – the one who transformed from pure energy into the spirit within us.

I am seeking to write about ideas, concepts, realities, and fantasies that no one ever has before. I want to take my concepts of existence beyond what I know and realize in this moment and spill their guts out onto my computer screen. Some days my writing comes fast and easy and knobby startling little phrases drop out of my head and into my fingers effortlessly.

Other days, I have a head of concrete with all sorts of disorganized ideas stuck in slow motion. How do I jackhammer this cement to free those ideas so they can co-mingle and become one coherent bolus of information and inspiration? Do I have to wait for the weather of time to wear it down slowly with its scorching suns, freezer-burn cold, and hurricane winds?

There must be a kinder, gentler way to free these thoughts stuck in the concrete of my brain’s neurons and synapses. Waiting for transformation is like waiting for inspiration – an exercise of the desperately lazy.

Transformation is not looking for a place to happen, but the story is waiting to be written. It is in the writing of the story that transformation occurs.

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “The presence of transformation”

  1. holessence Says:

    Barbara – I love when you said, “These stories have to come from our eternal presence, the one who is practiced in the ways of transformation – the one who transformed from pure energy into the spirit within us.”

    And then when you said, “Transformation is not looking for a place to happen, but the story is waiting to be written,” it made me think of one of my favorite lines from a children’s book: “There is a pen nestled in my hand writing me.”

    (The book is, “There is a Flower at the Tip of My Nose Smelling Me” by Alice Walker).

    On the days when my head is like a blob of concrete I release writing and embrace something else.

    Thank you for another wonderful post!

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Laurie — I like the idea of a pen writing me and it is such a novel way to approach writing: let the writing create me. And I do think that transformation is something that we create. It is a possibility (and a probability). The more we work to create a transformational story, the better our odds are of succeeding.

  2. passionatepresence Says:

    If my assumption is “that every thought that could possibly be had has already been thought of before and now all we are doing is thinking the same thoughts over and over again”, then I am likely to see and experience just that.

    Now if someone told me that we want to create and keep a world around us that is familiar, I would say that I can see evidence of that very clearly. It seems like that may also be a contributing factor to the current world problems.

    So, the questions I wrote to myself just this morning are as follows:

    Am I perpetuating fields of familiarity in creating this life using assumptions? What would it be like to live without assumptions?
    Can I see those assumptions objectively from awareness? If I willing to do that what do I learn?

    Is it possible to look “as” transcendent space or awareness and function in a body\mind? Can I drop my dependence and importance of my personal viewpoint and what I think I know and live from here? If so, what is it like to do that?

    Do I really have to know something in advance to live? Can I live based on an alive openness? Do I need to believe anything? Does it really help?

    Is it possible to open to dimensionless possibilities waiting for the touch of awareness to unfold? Can I trust that, and live from that?

    Is it always true that the best information we have is in the realm of what is known? Does memory and mental knowledge and learning acquired represent our highest potential and creativity?

    What I can say easily and effortlessly is that there have been countless times when I received answers, creative input, and new insights based on knowledge I do not possess in my memory or based on education or training.

    So perhaps some of this is a question of access and trust. Am I accessing the known and what passes for knowledge in the world, or am I tapped into some field of potentiality that is dynamic, creative, and spontaneous. Based on my experience in the paragraph above, I am willing to open to allow something new to emerge. I have had the direct experience of that gift and no one was more surprised when it landed than me. ;o)

    Great Post!

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      hello, passionatepresence and welcome to eternal presence. Thank you for your questioning response! Now, I have all sorts of new things to ponder and wrestle my wits about. I think you have nailed the world’s dilemma: if we believe that all that can be thought has been thought and we are destined to repeat it, then that is what will happen. I want to open up the possibility that we have the capacity to create a new way of being in the world . . . one that no one has thought of yet because like transformation, we must create it. I believe it will come from our being open to the trust in the unknown source that provided you with the answers and insights you had no previous knowledge of. I can’t know what it will look like, feel like, be like, smell like, or sound like, but I know it is possible.

  3. passionatepresence Says:

    I feel we have been trusting in our current knowledge and familiar views and something new wants to emerge. I sense it as we struggle to remain in old ways of living, we are experiencing negative consequences. In one sense perhaps it is good we don’t know what to do. Maybe it opens a space for something new to emerge???

    Knowledge is a finished puzzle. If I take a position, I am immediately limited by that position and it’s underlying assumptions. What wants to emerge if I suspend judgment and rest in presence? Am I willing to rest in nonjudgmental choiceless awareness with great openness and experience directly and with great trust what wants to emerge? Am I willing to open beyond what is familiar and my comfort zone? What are the implications for all of us?

    These are the questions I wrote to myself this morning.

    Below is a link to some ladies who learned how to do that, and a man Otto Scharmer who was inspired by them and created the Presencing Institute.

    http://www.collectivewisdominitiative.org/papers/circleof7_interv.htm

    http://www.presencing.com/presencing-theoryu/

    Lovely to Discover You & Your Blog! I will Thank Holessence Once Again for Her Inspiration! ;O)

    Blissings!

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      thanks so much for the links! One thing about taking a position I found is that I can have something to compare and contrast. But I need to be willing to “try on” several positions and to be “positionless” (<===not a real word). The familiar is a safe haven and helps us recognize our positions (both emotionally and physically) so embracing the unfamiliar is often a scary proposition. I applaud your willingness to even ask the question because it means you have already taken a step in that direction.

      I thank Laurie at Holessence every day. She is one of my best sources of wisdom and comfort.

  4. sandiwhite Says:

    Wow! you have someone to confound and challenge you with terribly deep thoughts of Presence! Boy, you needed it too! I can follow your train of thought and I can sympathize with your quandaries and questions, but I’ll never be able to run neck and neck with you on your race for knowledge and wisdom, I just like to see you hammer out these timeless queries and see you get some satisfaction in the process. And for throwing in my 2cents worth, there will always be someone for whom the thoughts are new. New people born everyday with 3 times the amount of material to learn before they ever come of legal age. That alone is astounding. My hat is off to you, what a job to undertake and even to anticipate a time when the answers will be known to you! It is indeed an eternal task and one you’ll never come to the end of.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Sandi — I hope your Thanksgiving was great!

      I honestly don’t know what I would do with myself if I did not have this intellectual conquest going on in my life. It really is a quest of self-exploration. Just because I have a thought transformation does not mean the rest of the world has to get on board with it. I also have discovered that yesterday’s answer does not necessarily work today . . .

Leave a Reply

