Learning Presence

We must be willing to let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the life that is waiting for us. Joseph Campbell

My fingertips surprise me when I allow them to translate directly from my soul without filter. When I returned to this blog last week, I responded to a comment from Laurie (Speaking from the Heart ) by saying: “The more I learn, the less I know. I have seen, heard, and felt SO much that all I can say is that I know even less than I knew three years ago because my learning has far exceeded my knowledge. Now I have to go write a blog about that.”

So, here I am . . . writing a blog about that—the more I learn, the less I know.

At the age of four or five, I was complete. I knew everything I needed to know. My memories of that time are curled up in an idyllic cloud of nested satisfaction. During that brief period in my life, I had no worries about the past or the future. I was totally caught up in the present and that was enough.

Life happened and the world caught me in its grip of reminiscence and anticipation. Consequences began to haunt me. The future held shadows that foretold of events to come.

Learning became a cognitive process that created more questions. Half a century later, I stand at the edge of knowledge cliff facing a vast emptiness of unknowing.

I have learned that I often get what I have asked for only to find out that I have asked for something that is not good for me.

I have learned that no one is really in charge of life here on earth except the laws of physics and nature.

I have learned that we create our existence.

I have learned that nothing has to happen and everything will.

What I don’t know is how to put what is best for me first.

What I don’t know is how to help others see that we can only be in charge of ourselves and if we just do that, we might cause less harm to others.

What I don’t know is how to create a daily existence that is based on everything I write about here.

What I don’t know is how to let nothing happen.

I am learning ever . . . so . . . slowly . . . that if I just watch my life and live from my true presence, something will happen.

And it might be better than what I had planned.

©2013 Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Learning Presence”

  1. Laurie Buchanan Says:

    Barbara – I enjoyed your entire post, but the inner core of my being went “Zing!” when I read, “I have learned that we create our existence.”

    And, like you…the more I learn, the less I know. As our mutual friend Sandi would say, “Fact!”

  2. Barbara Kass Says:

    Hi, Laurie — for some reason, talking with you always stirs something deep and telling in my words!

  3. Ann Marquette Says:

    Wonderful Barbara. Great post. I am sure I could have something profound to say here, but at 12:20 in the morning the brain is too tired 🙂

  4. ntexas99 Says:

    “causing less harm to others” is a good goal, and one I’m trying to learn how to live, more and more every day

    thanks for the reminder 🙂

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Nancy — and “harm” is a relative term, too. It is a tricky maneuver. When I go to buy something and it says “Made in China” is buying it harmful? If I don’t buy it does that mean someone in China eventually loses their job? I am working very hard to listen for some silent voice of guidance.

      • ntexas99 Says:

        In the “cause less harm” direction, I’ve been trying to pay attention to all the little things we can do (or that we can avoid doing) every day … like spreading positive energy, instead of planting negative energy into someone’s day, or bringing forth that smile, even when you are distracted or troubled, or even in choosing which blogs to visit, and which to leave untouched. I like your spirit of learning, and especially of learning, that the older we get, the less we know.

        • Barbara Kass Says:

          I am reading A Course in Miracles and doing the Workbook for Students that comes with it. The lessons are aligned with what you are saying: there are no neutral thoughts or actions. Everything matters.

  5. Ann Marquette Says:

    To your last comment Barbara “Everything matters.” We must remember that everything has a cause and effect. Sometimes it is hard to know which is out best decisions. I have the issue of buying “Made in China” partly due to harmful things that have been found in their products, but also because there is such a huge percentage of products here that are made in China. I would like to see more products “Made in the USA”, the quality excellent, but prices within reach of the average income. Lack of enough, or any at all is a big reason people purchase the cheaper items.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Ann, I agree that more products need to be made in the USA, but mostly I think we need fewer products and more services. Why is someone so willing to pay $30,000.00 for a car but balks at the same amount when it comes to paying for health care or an education? I think we have been sold a consumer-consciousness that does not serve us well.

      • Ann Marquette Says:

        So true Barbara. I truly believe that the excess cost of medical care began to happen after lawyers were approved by our government in the late 70s to advertise. They are out of control and continually promote suing anyone for any reason!

Leave a comment