The presence of imperfection

Imperfections saturate my world. My imagination creates the perfect world – how life is supposed to be – and I constantly compare the story in my head to the story unfolding that is my actual life and experience.

Life is always better in my head. If I am not mindful and careful of the stories I tell myself about what is right and wrong about my life, I will always be unhappy, dissatisfied, frustrated, and alone.

Living from the basis of a dual nature (right/wrong, good/bad) leaves me no room to find the perfection in what truly exists, including myself. There are obvious circumstances that are non-negotiable such as purposefully harming another human being with the intent to hurt them, but even that becomes negotiable if I am fighting for my life or the lives of my loved ones. Most of life consists of compromises and acceptance. Even if I were to find the perfection that lives in my imagination, its life expectancy is about a nanosecond.

Each moment is the perfect unfolding of my life. It is my intent to live as my true presence that sets the stage for that unfolding. So I must ask myself each morning: how will I bring my presence to life today?

©2010 by Barbara L. Kass

Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to “The presence of imperfection”

  1. Snoopykg1 Says:

    Be Present to life!

    Thanks for the wonderful words this morning…

    Kim. 😉

  2. Snoopykg1 Says:

    Each moment is the perfect unfolding of my life

    Wonderful words this morning!

    Thank You
    Kim

  3. Snoopykg1 Says:

    Sorry my Blackberry is shooting duplicates this morning!

    LOL

  4. holessence Says:

    “Each moment is the perfect unfolding of my life.”

    Barbara, that is a wonderful reminder. A reminder to write on post-it notes and stick in often-seen places.

    Excellent — thank you!

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

  5. Snoopykg1 Says:

    If I am fighting for my life or the lives of my loved ones.

    This is really what I have been doing for 3 years and quite frankly,tired of the struggle and have let go. Actually fighting for my marriage, on one hand fighting and on the other hand wantingn to leave….God I just labled the fight or flight scenario, and there has plenty of freeze response in between!

    Thanks for sharing….I appreciate your depiction here…
    Kim

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Letting go is a choice, too, Kim. I am reminded of the Beatles song “Let It Be” especially when you find yourself taking both sides. I would let your eternal presence become forefront as the observer. Let your life unfold as you intend it to.

  6. sandiwhite Says:

    Hi, Barbara, bring in another Home Truth. Looking for perfection is a very deep hole to dig, I never find perfection in it and have a hard time backing out. Looking for the perfect dress, the perfect doughnut, the perfect job, on and on and on without really taking the small amount of time to appreciate what one holds in one’s hand may just be the reason we do feel off kilter. The search for the perfect person, thing, song, what ever takes so much more time than we have to play with. When I hit serendipity every so often, it comes to me that things are where they should be, that I am where I should be, life will never be perfect but it sure can be good. Thank you for an excellent post.

    • Barbara Kass Says:

      Hi, Sandi . . . you mean I will never find the perfect doughnut???!!! All those trips to Dunkin’s place wasted! All those pounds on my butt for nothing?? You have a way with words that makes people smile and I am so glad. I think I hit serendipity when I found people like you, Laurie, and Kim.

  7. Snoopykg1 Says:

    Here your are

    Have a great evening

Leave a Reply

